Blue Bird’s Egg

On my summer walks in the woods, I cast my eyes on the forest floor looking for photographic subjects. My favorites are bird feathers, mushrooms, and wildflowers.

blue bird egg

A blue bird egg found in the New Hampshire woods.

On one walk, I spied a blue bird’s egg. The fragment of shell was such a delightful color I had to capture it with my Canon Powershot SX20is. The egg might have been from a robin or an eastern bluebird.

Months later, the shell has disappeared, long since hidden under the autumn leaves and then buried under New Hampshire’s winter snows. With the magic of photography, it lives forever in my computer. There I can take it out to examine and admire at any time.

 

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, political activist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Photos

Leave a comment