Where in NH to Get Your National Parks Lifetime Pass

We rushed off today to find the National Parks office near Conway. It was the nearest place to get a senior pass for the marvelous price of $10 if you are in Central New Hampshire. After August 27, the price goes to $80.

Although I said “rush,” it was a fairly leisurely scenic drive up the White Mountain Highway. Although it was Thursday, we shared the road with a fair number of cars with kayaks on the roof or with pickups pulling camping trailers. The weekenders were heading to the woods or the lake.

I fantasized about stopping for a lobster roll or a seafood casserole at Jake’s Seafood Co. but we were on a mission. No dallying along the way.

kacamagus highway map

Before reaching Conway, we followed the sign directing us to turn left for the Kancamagus Highway.  Almost immediately, we saw the National Parks office on the right and pulled in.

The ranger checked my age on my photo ID, collected my $10, and handed me the pass to sign. Mission accomplished! We dallied a bit to get a photo of a fisher cat taxidermy figure and a huge yellow jacket nest. I found some covered bridge postcards, cheap at 30 cents each, and picked up a free map of sights along the Kancamagus.

yelllow jacket nest

Photo by Virginia Allain – Yellow Jacket Nest.

We like to take visitors to see the Albany Covered Bridge and the Rocky Gorge scenic area. There are plenty of trails if you have time. Today, we had to head back home.

As we headed south, we stopped at Job Lots in Ossippee for a few things on our shopping list. We may have to return once we determine our tarp needs for closing up the camp.

 

 

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in Daytrip
One comment on “Where in NH to Get Your National Parks Lifetime Pass
  1. heytoto says:

    I’m going to share this on FB to remind friends about that looming deadline (although Conway, NH is probably not going to be that handy for them!) Is Jake’s where you took me for my first revelatory lobster roll?! Doesn’t sound like you got to stop on the way home, either. 😦 Sad that I didn’t get to see that covered bridge on my visit!

Leave a Reply

