Encountering a Toad

I bumped into this fellow last summer while I planted some impatiens. He was partially hidden in the dirt, so I almost jabbed him with my trowel. Fortunately, he moved quickly, as I really didn’t see him. His coloration blended perfectly with the soil.

He’s not the prettiest fellow, but very suited to his environment.

I took this shot with my Canon Powershot A550. It’s a small camera that fits well in the hand and easy to hold steady for a close-up shot.

toad nh

I was particularly struck by how detailed the toad’s eye pattern is in this photo. Somewhere I read that to get good wildlife photos to focus in on the eyes. Too many of my shots just show the animal’s rump as it disappears into the brush.

The eye is the only part where I got the focus right. I’ll pretend that I planned it that way.

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in wildlife

Leave a Reply

