Last Chance for Willowbrook Village

I was mad at myself when I heard that Willowbrook Historic Village was closing permanently this fall. For years, I’d intended to visit it and now it was almost too late. Low attendance and funding difficulties force the historic site to close after Columbus Day (October 10, 2016). The hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The village, in Newfield, Maine, is well off the beaten track. As you pull into the parking lot, you see an idyllic 19th-century scene with a bandstand on the green. Across the road, willow trees frame the millpond. Houses, barns, and a one-room school take the visitors back in time when life was slower.

The place is a treasure trove carriages, toys, musical instruments, furniture, and tools from the bygone days of the 1800s. Arranged in vignettes with labels to satisfy your curiosity, it’s a fascinating glimpse into the time of our great-grandparents. I loved it and think you will too. Please, set aside some time to see it before it closes forever.

 

It is open Thursday through Monday (closed on Tuesday and Wednesday).  You can read more about the closing of the museum in this article. Many of the exhibits are going to a museum near Bangor. That’s quite a distance, so I recommend seeing them while they are nearby at Willowbrook Village.

For more details on visiting the historic village, go to the Willowbrook webpage.

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Daytrip, Sightseeing
2 comments on “Last Chance for Willowbrook Village
  1. heytoto says:

    Such a shame. I’m glad you were able to visit one last time–thanks for sharing the photos. I recently spent the afternoon with an older friend who lives in a historic Kentucky town that I hadn’t visited. I was admiring a rather modest privately-owned 18th century house that caught my eye. My friend scoffed at that, saying “who would want to live in something like that?” She offered her opinions of the wonderful Shaker Village in nearby Harrodsburg (“nothing there” “boring”) and Williamsburg in Virginia (“why would anyone want to go there?”) She humored me by walking with me to a historic cemetery, stopping at the entrance while I went on in to check it out. Finally: “Why are we here?” 😦

  2. That’s sad when people don’t appreciate the history in their own communities.

Leave a Reply

