Patriotic Blueberry Patch

My neighbors probably paused in surprise on their evening stroll. It’s mid-July and the Allains suddenly decorated a section of their garden in all-out red, white, and blue bunting. There’s a good reason for it, and it isn’t because I’m mixed up on my calendar of patriotic holidays.

This frenzy of decorating happened yesterday after I spotted a plump robin landing in the yard. From my computer workspace, I have a panoramic view of the gardens and the woods. “How nice,” I thought, “we have a big robin visiting.” The second time, I caught the flash of its wings, I tuned in a bit more to observe what it was doing. Darn! It was eating the blueberries. Yes, the very ones I intended to pick later today after finishing my blog updates.

 

Blueberries from my patch

The blueberries I picked a few days ago

I rummaged out the string of pennants that I’d decorated our front deck back on the 4th of July. Placing stakes around the edge of the blueberry patch, I strung the small vinyl triangles completely around the planting area. In addition, I placed a red, white, and blue pinwheel in the garden. My hope was that any breeze would keep these things fluttering and distract the birds from my delectable berries.

One drawback to this plan was that it takes a fairly windy day for a breeze to filter through the woods into our yard.

patriotic blueberry patch

 

 

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in birds, gardening
One comment on “Patriotic Blueberry Patch
  1. heytoto says:

    Lol. Somehow I don’t think this will work!

Leave a Reply

