One More Project

Some people love having a project to plan and execute. My husband falls into that mindset. Me? I’m quite happy to put my feet up and read a good book.

About three summers ago, he constructed a ground-level deck with planter boxes along one side. It makes a great place for me to relax under the shade of the gazebo with my book. I enjoy trying out varied plants and flowers in the additional planting space too.

His woodworking project this summer was to add to this ground-level deck with a short, raised walkway over to our raised deck. He had most of the supplies (boards and screws) already on hand. That made it a quick, one-afternoon project.

drill deck

Making the walkway

I’m the designated helper, to hold a board in place while he is sawing or to fetch a tool from the shed. The finished walkway turned out fine and now, I can go back to my gardening and my reading.

 

20160628_163939

Wooden walkway from lower deck to upper deck.

 

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in Landscaping
One comment on “One More Project
  1. heytoto says:

    A very nice upgrade to your deck system!

Leave a Reply

