Eating Lobster Stew

A few weeks ago, we made our annual visit to Mike’s Clam Shack in Wells, Maine. It’s my brother-in-law’s favorite place to go for his birthday.

I ordered a cup of the lobster stew and it was a treat. Not cheap, of course, but so delicious that I was willing to pay $7 for a small serving.

Lovely bits of lobster in a tasty, milky broth.

Lovely bits of lobster in a tasty, milky broth.

Most places give you a packet of oyster crackers to put in your chowder or stew, but this time I didn’t want the distraction of the crunchy, round crackers. What I really would have liked with it was a roll or slice of homemade bread slathered with butter.

I really should learn to make this and serve it to visitors. There are a lot of recipes online but I’ll ask one of my husband’s cousins for a real New England recipe. It seems you have to make it the day before so the flavor has time to blend.

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in food
One comment on “Eating Lobster Stew
  1. Lisa says:

    Yum! That looks a lot like one of my favorites, She-Crab Soup. Did you find an authentic recipe yet?

Leave a Reply

