New Hampshire Moths

I’m in the woods and we’re surrounded by nature. As I work at my computer in the evenings, I hear insects thudding against the window screens. They’re attracted by the light filtering through the mini-blinds.

A friend shared some photos with me. This is probably what I’d see if I went out in the dark to investigate the sounds.

Gail Snell sent me this Polyphemus moth photo

Gail Snell sent me this Polyphemus moth photo

moth from Gail

I’ve seen a number of these around. Gail said, “The Rosy Maple Moth visited on Sunday June 15th.”

This is a luna moth (photo from Gail Snell)

This is a luna moth (photo from Gail Snell)

Here’s some info about the luna moth that she found: “The Luna Moth came on Sunday and stayed until last evening. From what we’ve read she was calling a mate to fertilize her eggs. She must have been hungry last night and left, they fly only at night. Pretty special if you ask us!”

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in insects
2 comments on “New Hampshire Moths
  1. heytoto says:

    If you have wonderful moths like those at your place in New Hampshire, you HAVE to start photographing them!!!!

  2. heytoto says:

    You REALLY need to start phographing your NH moths. What kinds do you get down in Florida?

Leave a Reply

