Love Those Dragonflies

Zipping about, the dragonflies are certainly active during the summer. One even landed on my arm while I was on the golf course. I would love to have taken its picture, but didn’t want to frighten it away while I rummaged in my pocket for my camera.

I stayed still and just observed it. Since it was so close, I could see that it had a small nymph or insect and was busily nibbling on it. They eat all sorts of insects from ants to mosquitoes. I guess their name is appropriate. They are the flying dragons of the insect world.

Here’s a photo that I took last summer of one.

Photo by Virginia Allain

Photo by Virginia Allain

For those who are afraid of bugs, you don’t have to worry about dragonflies. They don’t bite. They are quite beneficial for all the insects they eat.

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in insects

Leave a Reply

