New Critter Sighted

“Hurry around to the front,” my husband urged me. I was hoping he hadn’t hurt himself. My first aid skills are somewhat rusty.

I dropped my trowel and went to see what the problem was. When I spotted him, he was peering into the woods along the driveway. “What is it,” I asked?

Apparently he’d seen a grayish, humpbacked animal waddling across the gravel drive. By the time he got outside for a better look, the creature was already into the woods. We both gazed intensely into the heavily shaded section that buffered our lot. It was knee-deep in leaves from our recent raking.

We had no luck discerning any movement in the underbrush or stirring up the piles of leaves. I missed seeing it entirely.

When he described it, it didn’t sound like a possum with its distinctive rat-like face and snake-like tail. It was smaller than a bear cub, which would have been black. It didn’t walk like a raccoon and wasn’t a skunk.

Curious, he searched possible animals online. It wasn’t a fishercat which is more weasel like. Finally he found a likely candidate. It was a woodchuck, also called a marmot or groundhog. I wish I’d seen it. Maybe it will wander past again.

Groundhog Poster
Groundhog Poster by luv2wander
View Animal Posters online at zazzle
I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in wildlife
One comment on “New Critter Sighted
  1. heytoto says:

    “How much wood would a woodchuck chuck….” 😉 Hope he pays a return visit so you get to see him!

Leave a Reply

