Rare White Ladyslipper

I walked down to a neighbor to drop off their mail that we accidentally received. Was delighted as I passed Julia’s cottage that she was just turning in. Hadn’t seen her yet. Part of the fun of being at camp is seeing friends from previous summers.

She pointed out a pink lady’s-slipper that bloomed right at the entrance to her carport, forcing her to park outside it for now. I’d feared their blooming season was over as I hadn’t spotted any yet. She told me one of the neighbors had white lady’s-slippers growing in their yard.

My camera is always with me, so I walked on down the sandy road to photograph the white beauties.  A small fence protected them. What a treat to see these.

Rare White Ladyslippers

Rare White Ladyslippers

I searched online to see if these were native to New Hampshire. Not having much luck finding out about them.

I'm a retired librarian...photographer, online content creator, genealogist, and writer. My passion is convincing people to preserve their family history and to write about their childhood memories.

Tagged with:
Posted in wildflowers

Leave a Reply

